Lhasa and Mt. Everest Itinerary
Tibet Local Time:22:30:41 GMT+8
Lhasa Weather
tibet tour logo,professional tibet tour operator

Office Hour: 09:00am - 06:00pm, (GMT+8)

Call our professional Tibet tour advisors


Home > Tibet Tour Advice > Tibet Travel Information

Lhasa and Mt. Everest Itinerary

Update: Mar. 21st, 2013


Lhasa and Mt. Everest Itinerary

D1 Lhasa – Chinese-Nepalese Highway – Tingri (Xegar) – Rongbuk Monastery

We will pass Gyatsola Mountain on the way to Mt. Everest National Nature Reserve in the morning. Gyatsola Mountain is 5220 meters high, which is the highest mountain pass in Tibet. It is not only the mountain pass of Mt. Everest National Nature Reserve but also the gateway of Mt. Everest. There are full of flying colorful prayer flags but few types of vegetation. Standing on Gyatsola Mountain Pass, you will have a chance to overlook Mt. Everest, Cho Oyu Peak, Lotse Peak and Makalu Peak. They are all over 8000 meters high. Afterwards, we will drive to Tingri County, which is approximately 245 kilometers far from Gyatsola Mountain. We could visit Rongbuk Monastery over there, which is 5100 meters high. Rongbuk Monastery is highly respected by Red Sect (Nyingma Sect). It is the highest monastery of the world, about 10 kilometers far from the top of Mt. Everest. It is regarded as the best place to enjoy and photograph Mt. Everest. You could choose to trek to Mt. Everest Base Camp from Rongbuk Monastery, or take the eco-car there.

In the evening, you could camp in Mt. Everest Base Camp by yourself, stay in the tent in Mt. Everest Base Camp, or overnight in Rongbuk Monastery. The sunset scenery over there is breathtaking and unforgettable.

Traffic: Mt. Everest is located about 100 kilometers south far from Chinese-Nepal Highway. It is about 8 kilometers far from Rongbuk Monastery to Mt. Everest Base Camp.

D2 Mt. Everest – Shigatse

It takes about 8-9 hours driving from Mt. Everest to Shigatse Prefecture. It is gravel road. With the first sunglow rises on the Mt. Everest, we will pass through Himalaya Mountain and Gyawula Mountain. There are some other mountains over 8000 meters high around Mt. Everest, such as Cho Oyu Peak, Lapugyikang Peak, Lotse Peak, Shisha Pangma Peak, and Makalu Peak, etc. Shisha Pangma Peak is the only one high mountain which is over 8000 meters high located in China totally.

Afterwards, we will drive to Sakya Monastery. Sakya Monastery where the Sakya Sect established was built in 1073. There are numerous precious treasures in Sakya Monastery.

D3 Shigatse – Tashilhunpo Monastery – Karo-la Glacier – Lhasa City

In the morning, we will visit Tashilhunpo Monastery. Tashilhunpo Monastery is one of the must-see attractions of Shigatse Prefecture. It is not only the largest monastery of Gelug Sect in Shigatse, but also the permanent residence of Panchen Lama's. Tashilhunpo Monastery was first built in AD 1447. The 28-meter high Buddha Statue is enshrined and worshipped in Tashilhunpo Monastery.

Then we will pass Gangpala Snow Mountain which is 4900 meters high and finally arrive in Yamdrok Lake. Yamdrok Lake is so beautiful and shining that hardly to describe with few words. It is one of the important sacred lakes of Tibet and highly respected by local Tibetan people. The water is acceptable to drink directly. In the afternoon, we will drive back to Lhasa City by way of Qushui Bridge.

Share |
Quick Links:
Master Card VISA American Express Paypal Bank of China
Copyright 2011 | Tibet Tour Dot Com | All rights reserved. See our Privacy Policy, User Agreement